Self-Acceptance and HIV

Posted on March 19, 2018

People living with HIV all take different approaches to dealing with life's challenges when it comes to family, friends, and work. A person processing their HIV diagnosis may go through the 5 steps of grief. The five stages, denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Starting a dialogue and striving towards self-acceptance is best done with the support of others with HIV who understand what you are going through.

On myHIVteam, the social network and online support group for those living with HIV, members talk about a range of personal experiences and struggles. Self-acceptance is one of the top 10 topics most discussed.

Here are some question-and-answer threads about self-acceptance:

Has anyone experienced any issues with their relationship after being diagnosed?

How hard was it for you to tell your loved ones that you are HIV positive?

Here are a few conversations about self-acceptance:

If you have the chance to help someone please do, says this member.

Now I try to help others find a new way to live, I'm at peace with my life.

The life I live, I have made for myself. Not everyone has been so gifted.

Can you relate?

Have another topic you'd like to discuss or explore? Go to myHIVteam today and start the conversation. You'll be surprised just how many others may share similar stories.

Feel free to ask a question here.

A myHIVteam Member said:

Nothing more beautiful in life is also know to learn how to live alone but not lonely. Try music, art, some people will come around you, transmit your… read more

posted 26 days ago


myHIVteam My HIV Team

Get the latest articles about HIV sent to your inbox.

Not now, thanks

Privacy policy
myHIVteam My HIV Team

Thank you for signing up.